5388 - Galeria_single | MMPH


Prishtina, 24 september 2010 - The Minister of Energy and Mining, Justina Shiroka –Pula abandoned the Eighth Ministerial Council Meeting of the ECT, organized by the ECT Secretariat in the capitol of Macedonia, Skopje, due to the request to represent Kosovo under the UNMIK logo.

The Ministerial Meeting, apart from ECT members, was attended by countries of the European Union, the European Commission, and the organizer had planned for Kosovo to be presented under the UN banner, which was objected by Minister Pula, which further conditioned her participation to the meeting with the placement of the Kosovo’s flag instead of UN’s.
Otherwise, on 23 September 2010, also in Skopje, a meeting of the High Level Group (PHLG) was held, and an Investment Conference, to which Kosovo was represented in an equal level with other participating countries.

Kosovo’s representatives have re-emphasized Kosovo’s commitment to complying to all obligations deriving from the ECT, thereby stating that Kosovo has made progress in ensuring such compliance.

The eighth ECT Ministerial Council was preceded by a working dinner with the ministers of ECT member countries from the region, where the Minister Pula was present as well.

During this visit, Minister Pula had a bilateral meeting with the Macedonian Minister of Economy, Fatmir Besimi, with whom she discussed on cooperation between Kosovo and Macedonia in the energy sector.

The treaty establishing the Energy Community Treaty was signed on 25 October 2005, and it entered into force on July 1, 2006.

Contracting parties are the following: Albania, Kosovo, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro and Serbia. Otherwise, on 24 September 2010, an agreement was signed between the Energy Community and Ukrain.